## The 11<sup>th</sup> Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award (2016/2017)

## **Prize-giving Ceremony**

The 11<sup>th</sup> Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award Prize-giving Ceremony was successfully held on 6<sup>th</sup> May, 2017 at N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School. The award was jointly organized by Heung Yee Kuk New Territories, the Alumni Association of N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School and N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School. For years, Heung Yee Kuk New Territories has been serving and providing opportunities for quality education for the citizens of the New Territories. The objective of this annual award is to encourage the whole-person development of primary school students, cultivate their awareness and sense of responsibility towards society, give due recognition to the outstanding primary school students and their primary schools and highlight the educational achievements of schools in Yuen Long. The ceremony was graced by Mr. Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, MH, JP, Chairperson of Heung Yee Kuk N.T., Mr. MAN Fu-wan, B.B.S., Permanent Advisor of Heung Yee Kuk N.T., Mr Donald LAM Yin-shing, Head of Commercial Banking of Hang Seng Bank Limited, Mr. LEE Kam-kwong, Principal Education Officer (N.T.), and Ms. CHAN Ka-mun, Carmen, B.B.S., JP, Ex-officio Executive Councillor of Heung Yee Kuk.

The ceremony began with the opening speech of Mr. LAU. This was followed by the sharing of Mr. LAM and Ms. CHAN. They praised all the participants for their talents. Being an outstanding alumnus of the school with great contribution to our society, Mr. LAM is indeed the role model for students. He recounted his memorable memories in Heung Chung and shared with students valuable advice by Professor Wang Enge, former President of Peking University, to encourage them to strive for a balance between work and studies, align passion with profession and be fuelled by vision and fortitude.

As with previous years, the 11<sup>th</sup> Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award was enthusiastically supported by many principals and parents. 115 outstanding students were nominated by 41 primary schools to compete and exhibit their youthful spirit and brilliance before a panel of prominent judges formed by elites of various industries. After careful deliberation, ten outstanding primary school students were selected to receive the award (please refer to the name list below). Each candidate demonstrated exceptional academic performances, outstanding personalities and personal morals, active participation in extra-curricular activities and positive contributions to community service. Each of the ten recipients of the award fully deserved the recognition.

This year, LIU Yao-jun, LAU Tsz-shing, Jason , NG Tze-chang as well as an awardee of the 6<sup>th</sup> Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award, IP Hoi-ping were invited to be the hosts of the ceremony which symbolized the passing of the torch from one generation of outstanding students to the next. Their amazing performance was highly praised by the guests. The recipients of

the award sincerely expressed their feelings in a speech to thank their teachers and parents for their support, care and love. After receiving awards from the honourable guests, the awardees exhibited their versatile talents through performances of verse-speaking, singing, Taekwondo, piano and puppeteering. The ceremony ended in a joyful and harmonious atmosphere.

Student*	School
Lam Wai Sum	Kwong Ming Ying Loi School
Lau Kai Yin Ralph	C.&M.A. Chui Chak Lam Memorial School
Lee Yat Long	Kwong Ming Ying Loi School
Leung Chi Ho	Xianggang Putonghua Yanxishe Primary School of Science and
	Creativity
Lui Hoi Lok	C.&M.A. Chui Chak Lam Memorial School
Mok Tin Yan	S.K.H. Ling Oi Primary School
Ng Chun Yin	Tin Shui Wai Catholic Primary School
Pong Sze Ching	S.K.H. Ling Oi Primary School
Yeung Cho Yiu	Tin Shui Wai Methodist Primary School
Zhuang Cheuk Huen	Chung Sing School

The list of the ten awardees is as follows:

\*Names of students appear according to alphabetical order.





