The 10th Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award (2015/2016) Prize-giving Ceremony



The 10th Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award Prize-giving Ceremony was successfully held on 7th May, 2016 at N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School. The award was jointly organized by Heung Yee Kuk New Territories, the Alumni Association of N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School and N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School. For years, Heung Yee Kuk New Territories has been serving and providing opportunities for quality education for the citizens of the New Territories. The main objective of this annual award is to encourage the whole-person development of primary school students, cultivate their awareness and sense of responsibility towards society, give due recognition to the outstanding primary school students and their primary schools and highlight the educational achievements of schools in Yuen Long. The ceremony was graced by Mr. Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, MH, JP, Chairperson of Heung Yee Kuk, Mr. MAN Fu-wan, B.B.S., Permanent Advisor, Mr. WONG Wai-shun, Vice Chairman of Yuen Long District Council, Mr. LEE Kam-kwong, Principal Education Officer (N.T.), Mr. TSOI Chong-tat, John, our former principal and Mr HO Ho-pui Aaron, Professor of Department of Electronic Engineering of The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Having their 10th anniversary celebration, the organizers of Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award invited the previous winners, including IP Hiu-tung, Joan (1st), LAM Kwan-wai(2nd), WONG Hong-yee (3rd), WONG Tin-ying (4th), NG Wing-yiu, Melody (5th), IP Hoi-ping (6th), YEUNG Yuet-sang (7th), TIU Tsz-ching (8th) and LI Hey-way (9th) to share their feelings on the occasion. Our principal Mr LAM Ka-yiu expressed his gratitude to Mr TSOI Chong-tat, John, our former principal, for initiating such a meaningful event which has given due recognition to the outstanding primary school students for years.

Mr. Wong gave a speech, which was followed by Professor Ho's sharing. Both of them praised all the participants for their talents. Being the outstanding alumni of the school with great contribution to our society, they are indeed the role models for students. They recounted their memorable memories in Heung Chung, shared advisable advice on how to be successful and encouraged them to strive for excellence, hoping to pass the torch to the next generation of Heung Chung students.

As with previous years, the 10th Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award was enthusiastically supported by many principals and parents. 114 outstanding students were nominated by 41 primary schools to compete and exhibit their youthful spirit and brilliance before a panel of prominent judges selected from all walks of life. After careful deliberation, ten outstanding primary school students were selected to receive the award (please refer to the name list below). Each candidate demonstrated exceptional academic performances, outstanding personalities and personal morals, active participation in extra-curricular activities and positive contributions to community service. Each of the ten recipients of the award fully deserved the recognition.

This year, three of the awardees of the 5th and 6th Yuen Long District Outstanding Primary School Students Award, WONG Sze-yuet, NG Wing-yiu, Melody and IP Hoi-ping as well as a student of Heung Chung LEUNG Sung-nok were invited to be the hosts of the ceremony which symbolized the passing of the torch from one generation of outstanding students to the next. Their amazing performance was highly praised by the guests.

The recipients of the award sincerely expressed their feelings in a speech to thank their teachers and parents for their support, care and love. After receiving awards from the honourable guests, the awardees exhibited their musical talents through performing the song *Every Tomorrow*. One of our alumni Mr. SHUM Ho-kit, Chairman of Yuen Long District Council, also showed his support by praising and encouraging the awardees and took photos with them. The ceremony ended in a joyful and harmonious atmosphere.

The list of the ten awardees is as follows:

Student*	School
Cheng Pui Kiu	S.K.H. St. Joseph's Primary School
Ip Hau Ching	Yuen Long Merchants Association Primary School
Kong Lik To	W F Joseph Lee Primary School
Lai Wai Ying	C.C.C. Chun Kwong Primary School
Law Ho Hong	C.C.C. Chun Kwong Primary School
Leung Ching Kin	Kwong Ming School
Leung Yi Lok	Tin Shui Wai Catholic Primary School
Ng Cheuk Yin	C.&M.A. Chui Chak Lam Memorial School
Ng Sze Fan	Tin Shui Wai Catholic Primary School
Xiong Maggie	A.D. & F.D. P.O.H. Ltd. Leung Sing Tak School

^{*}Names of students appear according to alphabetical order



